A Smile Costs.

”The world will dance to the beats of my music. It will be me, whom people will look up to and appreciate.”

These are the words of no one but a portrayal of my imagination, when I was fifteen. Seated at the corner of a berth, in a heavily loaded local train, there I was lost in my own world. Fifteen is the age when one imagines to conquer the world, without emphasising on the process of doing the same.

I was doing the same, when my mother, breaking the oh so powerful concentration of my thoughts, asked me not to smile. I had not even realised that I had been performing the act of smiling. But why would a mother ask her daughter not to smile. This question never bothered my mind, but she had an answer considering that I did not repeat the mistake of ”smiling”. She told me that girls should not smile in public. Now why should girls not smile in public? Like every suppression of society that was burdened upon me by my mother, I accepted this one too.

One would think, why am I even narrating this incident? My answer to this would be that I want to tell you what little things a girl has to sacrifice from the day she is born. A smile is something that nobody else can dictate. But our society does feel the need to do so, for the female sector of the society.

Today, sitting in the same mode of travel, I am writing this, with a smile on my face with no one to dictate it. Being confident is the key to coming out of the societal suppression. I know this because I came out it. The duration does not matter. What matters is what you make out of it.

Peeli Dori is an attempt to provide a thread of hope, to all those who want to come out and stand for themselves. I did and will make many more to do the same. Trust the yellow in you. Shine like a star. People will complain, only because the light will be too bright.

On this journey, where I start a new chapter of Peeli Dori, writing a name will not be enough. I will have to take a stand. Each and every soul will have to take a stand. One will motivate thousand others.

Here arrives, Peeli Dori to a small cluster in Udaipur to provide them with a medium to showcase their skills, to give them a smile no one will ever deprive them of.

Leave a Reply

